Learning More of The Cosmos

Got a question on astronomy that you'd wanted to ask? Ask your questions here and see if the old timers can give you some good answers.
brandon1987
Favourite scope: 70AZ Astromaster

Learning More of The Cosmos

Post by brandon1987 »

Hey guys,

I just stumbled on this forum while i'm at work. I have an AZ70 Astromaster sitting at my fiance's place in kovan with an accessory kit containing lenses varying from 6mm to 32mm and coloured lenses. I'm staying at AMK avenue 10 so i might drop by for some of your oberservation sessions. I usually do observations at my fiance's place coz she has an open roof with minimal light pollution. I am quite keen to study the basics of stellar and planetary positioning in the night sky but i can't find anyone to teach me. I have tried studying through books online but i'm having difficulty understanding them. I do have some knowledge on astronomy like characteristics of our solar system's moons and known discoveries about the system's planets but no one keen enough to discuss with.

I hope to get together with some of you guys once in awhile to do some academic study on astronomy and also learn a few things practically. I really hope to hear some response.

Oh btw this is a repost from another thread. (posted wrongly =X haha)
Brandon Hendricks signing off...
cloud_cover
Favourite scope: 94.5", f/24 Ritchey-Chretien Reflector

Re: Learning More of The Cosmos

Post by cloud_cover »

Hello!
One of the simplest ways to familiarize yourself with the night sky is to download a freeware such as Stellarium. It will show you (on an iphone or a computer) where things are in the sky. I used to bring my laptop to the window with me and try to identify hitherto invisible star patterns with my binoculars :)