Buying scope in London?

For people new to astronomy who want to ask those questions that they were afraid to ask. Receive helpful answers here.
zenfeng2001

Buying scope in London?

Post by zenfeng2001 »

Hi, I am a real newbie trying to pick up my first telescope. Want something portable cos I am fairly sure I won't use it much if it is too cumbersome to lug about. Often go to London and Taiwan for business trip and can pick up a scope from there. Anyone has any suggestions for a good scope? Am thinking of the WO Megrez 72 or Celestron C90 Mak - are these good choices? How aboutnthe Vixen VMC 90 or Meade ETX 80? anyone has any advice? Is London or Taiwan a better place to buy than here? Appreciate any advice. Thanks
acc
Administrator
Favourite scope: Mag1 Instruments 12.5" Portaball

Post by acc »

hello welcome to the forum.

If you are thinking of scopes from US-based companies, it is unlikely to be worthwhile getting them from Europe since the prices are inevitably higher (~2x?) plus there is the killer VAT of 20% (unless you can claim VAT offset of course).

If there's a WO scope you fancy, than getting them from Taiwan is a good way to save on shipping charges. I believe they offer a 10% discount off their online prices for walk-in customers. Their small showroom is in Danshui; better to contact them to confirm price and availability before going as the place is more like their office than a retail store. Also, they ship direct to Singapore quickly and cheaply.

The WO Megrez 72 is a bit aperture-limited and does not come with tube rings. The Megrez 90 comes with tube-rings, cost twice as much, but may be a better bet. The C90 Mak does not have good reviews, an ETX-90 OTA should outperform it. Don't think the VMC 90 and ETX 80 are good but you should research online for the latest reviews.

If I were you, given your aim for something portable, I will look at M90, C5 SCT, C6 SCT etc. I am sure others will have yet more recommendations.