Beginner help!

For people new to astronomy who want to ask those questions that they were afraid to ask. Receive helpful answers here.
marx85

Beginner help!

Post by marx85 »

hi all bros here,

im just a newbie but very much interested in starting this new hobby.

any recommendation for a starter like me? considering i know nuts about it..
my budget would be below $500

i've check the buy/sell corner and noticed some bros selling their sets at $450 etc.. (Celestron AstroMaster 130EQ scope)c.. would it be advisable ? what should i look out for when i'm getting
kensou

Re: Beginner help!

Post by kensou »

i would suggest some scopes that is light weighted as a heavy scope will really deter you to go out obs more often, and also just join observation sessions to know more about different scope where you get a chance to touch it and understand it.. don't forget what you need is not just scope, you need tripod and eyepieces to make a set complete. :)

Hope this help
vivid

Post by vivid »

How about a pair of nice binos? Esp if you already have a photo tripod.

This one is quite light. Check CN forums, it's pretty well regarded, better than the Celestron etc..stuff.

Email them for shipping price, but should be in the usd75 range thereabouts.

https://www.garrettoptical.com/Garrett- ... 2080lw.htm

Even when you go deeper into the hobby next time, a pair of binos do help. A pair of binos is actually somewhat essential to astronomy even though it's like "basic".
Gary

Post by Gary »

marx85 wrote:hi all bros here,

im just a newbie but very much interested in starting this new hobby.

any recommendation for a starter like me? considering i know nuts about it..
my budget would be below $500

i've check the buy/sell corner and noticed some bros selling their sets at $450 etc.. (Celestron AstroMaster 130EQ scope)c.. would it be advisable ? what should i look out for when i'm getting