Nikon or Canon, for astrophotog

For people new to astronomy who want to ask those questions that they were afraid to ask. Receive helpful answers here.
liquidice

Nikon or Canon, for astrophotog

Post by liquidice »

hi, guys.
i am new in this astrophotog thing. i own a canon 7D and recently purchase a nikon D600
but i have read a lot online regarding OTA and mount. so i roughly know some of the terms
but i couldnt find much info about SLR model/brand suitability for astrophotog

my question is nikon good for astrophotog? or canon?
cos later on all the narrow band filter, modification, adapter, and remote, pc connection, and photo result will be affected in choice or usage. and maybe the whole camera cant be use for daily life photography any more.

i feel like theres so much noise and easily hotpixel (even manual sensor cleaning) in my 7D until i went to get myself a fullframe D600.
i already have a vixen polarie but the sky has been cruel lately. cloudy and a lot of low cloud
wish to get a atlas mount later on

please advice, thank u
Gary

Re: Nikon or Canon, for astrophotog

Post by Gary »

Hi liquidice. Welcome to the forum. You may find this article useful in your research if you have not come across it by now: http://www.astropix.com/HTML/I_ASTROP/NIK_CAN.HTM
http://www.astro.sg
email: gary[at]astro.sg
twitter: @astrosg

"The importance of a telescope is not how big it is, how well made it is.
It is how many people, less fortunate than you, got to look through it."
-- John Dobson.
Airconvent
Super Moderator

Post by Airconvent »

Can also consider the new Pentax K30. :)

http://www.pixiq.com/article/pentax-k-30
The Boldly Go Where No Meade Has Gone Before
Captain, RSS Enterprise NCC1701R
United Federation of the Planets
cloud_cover
Favourite scope: 94.5", f/24 Ritchey-Chretien Reflector

Post by cloud_cover »

Hello!