Just registered today, looking for a equipment to start

For people new to astronomy who want to ask those questions that they were afraid to ask. Receive helpful answers here.
buihia
Favourite scope: dont have one yet

Just registered today, looking for a equipment to start

Post by buihia »

Hi all,

got to know of this forum through a random post in hwz forum..

basically im a beginner in this and just use the skymap app to look at jupiter and the orion stars around it, other than that i just use the same app to look at stars which are bright to the naked eye

my current room doesnt allow a scope to be purchased, and the high cost that comes with it..

however, i am interested to get a binoculars but not sure if it is advisable for a newbie to get a clearer look at the stars other than what we can see on a cloudless night with the naked eye.. Ive roughly browsed through the site and looks like i should be getting a 8x40 binoculars.

any recommendations on what i should be doing? e.g get second hand first to try out (and what to look out for when purchasing second hand bino), budget wise, what brands are good for newbies, or specific models i should look at?

thank you so much , and meanwhile ill be reading the forums
Gary

Re: Just registered today, looking for a equipment to start

Post by Gary »

buihia wrote:Hi all,

got to know of this forum through a random post in hwz forum..

basically im a beginner in this and just use the skymap app to look at jupiter and the orion stars around it, other than that i just use the same app to look at stars which are bright to the naked eye

my current room doesnt allow a scope to be purchased, and the high cost that comes with it..

however, i am interested to get a binoculars but not sure if it is advisable for a newbie to get a clearer look at the stars other than what we can see on a cloudless night with the naked eye.. Ive roughly browsed through the site and looks like i should be getting a 10x50 binoculars.