Pardon my ignorance but I am extremely confused

For people new to astronomy who want to ask those questions that they were afraid to ask. Receive helpful answers here.
InkRule
Favourite scope: Full Spectrum 50d

Pardon my ignorance but I am extremely confused

Post by InkRule »

Hi, im Andrew and I guess im extremely new to astrophotography, only thing i ever took a photo of was the moon and that's what got me really interested in astronomy.

Hence, I went on to modify my Canon 50d into a full spectrum camera. Sadly I haven't found clear skies or places with the least light pollution to take pictures of the stars. Then today I chanced upon this forum and realized that filters are needed, broadband, narrowband and H Alpha filters. Im wondering which would I need to usage in Singapore(Light pollution in mind) If there was one filter I would have to get for my 70-200mm f4 non-IS lens, what would it be? Im extremely confused. Orion Ultrablock is for telescopes right? Ughhh too much confusion, as much as i would like to join the Mersing trip on the 12th, i fear i would not be able to take any pictures with my lack of equipment.

Thanks for any patient replies and understanding, I have much to learn from all you seniors :)
Mariner
Favourite scope: Non as of now

Re: Pardon my ignorance but I am extremely confused

Post by Mariner »

You dun need filters for basic AP unless you intend to do very long exposures. Alot of visual filters are not suitable for AP use as they transmit less light than those specially designed for AP and CCD.

For visual, the selection are broadband (LPR), narrowband (UHC, NPB) and line filters (O-III, H-beta) and a selection of colour filters.

You dun need much equipment to take AP. A camera and a sturdy tripod would be the minimum. Just ask rcj and gang. :mrgreen:
OCULARHOLIC ANONYMOUS!!!
Keep Calm and Carry on Observing.
Gary

Post by Gary »

Hi Andrew. Welcome to the forum!