Celestron C6-SGT

For people new to astronomy who want to ask those questions that they were afraid to ask. Receive helpful answers here.
thehasoe

Celestron C6-SGT

Post by thehasoe »

Dear All,

A newbie here. Bought a Celestron C6-SGT (with CG-5GT mount) on an impulse last week during a visit to the Astro @ Science Centre.

Am mainly interested to take a Nebula (I know it is very challenging) but want to observe planet as well with my family sometime. (So they suggest me to get C6-SGT which can use for both)

Very noob question is that, do i still need to get some kind of AutoGuider device to take long exposure nebula photos or CG-5GT mount will do this for me? (I am confuse about how CG-5GT goto mount work. Is only a computerized auto finder or will do guiding when long expo as well?)

And would i still able to take nebula without auto guider by taking multiple frames and stack?
Would like to get advices on which auto guider will be completable with it if i needs one?

Thanks
Gary

Re: Celestron C6-SGT

Post by Gary »

Hi thehasoe. Welcome to the hobby and the forum! Congrats on getting a telescope!

I will let the AP experts here comment on your imaging question. Just wanna say C6 is a very capable scope for its size. You will love it for observing Moon/Planets and deep sky objects under clear skies.

If you have an alta-azimuth mount in the future, you may also mount your C6 on that to enjoy quick manual visual sessions with minimum set up time and more portability at the expense of tracking/imaging capabilities.

Do join the free public stargazing sessions in Singapore and learn more about your telescope system from other amateur astronomers.

Have fun exploring the Universe and enjoy the journey!
http://www.astro.sg
email: gary[at]astro.sg
twitter: @astrosg

"The importance of a telescope is not how big it is, how well made it is.
It is how many people, less fortunate than you, got to look through it."
-- John Dobson.
shirox