Some useful info for freshies

For people new to astronomy who want to ask those questions that they were afraid to ask. Receive helpful answers here.
Desmond_T
Favourite scope: Celestron Tavelscope 70

Some useful info for freshies

Post by Desmond_T »

Hi, I don't know if this has been posted before.

I am a newbie trying to help other newbies as well. I know very little about telescopes and I wanted to buy one to do astronomy and terrestrial viewing (not watching pretty girls along the streets hor), so I decided to do some research before getting a telescope. I came across this wonderful site that explains the fundamentals of a telescope. There are 31 pages of it, so enjoy! [smilie=admire2.gif]

http://science.howstuffworks.com/telescope.htm

In addition, these are some videos to go along to help you gain some telescope knowledge. Go to this guy's channel, he has more videos to show! :mrgreen:

Last edited by Desmond_T on Wed Jul 03, 2013 6:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Clear skies~
Hardwarezone
Favourite scope: maksutov

Re: Some useful info for freshies

Post by Hardwarezone »

A few links that I find useful.

http://www.stargazing.net/naa/scopemath.htm

Cloud satellite view of past 6 hours
http://www.accuweather.com/en/sg/national/satellite

Rain radar ... save URL as bookmark, refresh the page every few minutes for update
http://www.weather.gov.sg/wip/pp/rndops ... /rad70.gif
Desmond_T

Post by Desmond_T »

This is a good site to understand more about the cosmos and astronomy. Khan Academy is like a non-profit tutorial website that teaches Science, Maths, Economics and Humanities subjects. Very interesting concept of learning online. So, enjoy! :D

http://www.khanacademy.org/science/cosm ... -astronomy
Clear skies~
Gary

Post by Gary »

@Hardwarezone - Thanks for sharing links. I found them useful too.