AZ or EQ mount for beginners

For people new to astronomy who want to ask those questions that they were afraid to ask. Receive helpful answers here.
qwins14
Favourite scope: Still searching for a favourite

AZ or EQ mount for beginners

Post by qwins14 »

Hello,

I'm new to this and I was wondering if I should get an AZ or EQ mount?

My main considerations are:
1. which is easier to operate for beginners?
2. is it hard to learn the harder one?
3. is it tedious to track objects in the sky with the easier mount?

Hence I'll probably get a mount that strikes a compromise between these concerns.

Thanks for any advice!
bornfree
Favourite scope: Still searching for "The Eye"

Re: AZ or EQ mount for beginners

Post by bornfree »

There is no one size fit all. I would say AZ mount is the simplest to use, but EQ mount can add a motor to do simple tracking. i would say experience the 2 kind of mounts. feel for yourself the pro n cons. ask those who own the different mounts n how they feel about their mount.
Born to be Free
qwins14

Post by qwins14 »

how do you feel about your mount? =D

I think im going to settle for an EQ. for now anyway. unless it frustrates me later on.
antares2063
Favourite scope: Newtonians

Post by antares2063 »

if you are mainly into Visual and looking at objects , alt-az is lighter and faster setup time.

if you are intending to try out astrophotography in far future, then EQ mount would be a better choice , just that its bulkier and heavier. Also bear in mind some EQ mounts can be used for visual ,can run without power, (ie manual slow motion knobs) some EQ mounts slew or traverse if there is no power source.

Hope this helps :)

regards,
Junwei
I miss the place where stars shine bright, to gaze upwards in awe of the sight
MooEy

Post by MooEy »