First scope for a newbie. Is this a good start?

For people new to astronomy who want to ask those questions that they were afraid to ask. Receive helpful answers here.
uracil

First scope for a newbie. Is this a good start?

Post by uracil »

Hi everyone, newbie here!

About me: I've learnt to identity most objects in the sky since young, and now I'm ready to move from the theory to the practical :D
At this moment I'm most interested in viewing objects such as the Messier objects, like the Pleiades and Andromeda and stuff, and possibly photographing them. I think these are considered deep-space objects, and I'm not entirely sure which are the telescopes best suited for this purpose.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Celestron-31045 ... dp_product

This Celestron Astromaster 130EQ caught my eye while browsing around (partially because i'm based in europe right now, so shipping cost is ideal). From what I read, greater aperture is what I need for my purpose, so is this a good place to start?

Any comments and suggestions would be appreciated! Many thanks!
Gary

Re: First scope for a newbie. Is this a good start?

Post by Gary »

uracil wrote:Hi everyone, newbie here!

About me: I've learnt to identity most objects in the sky since young, and now I'm ready to move from the theory to the practical :D
At this moment I'm most interested in viewing objects such as the Messier objects, like the Pleiades and Andromeda and stuff, and possibly photographing them. I think these are considered deep-space objects, and I'm not entirely sure which are the telescopes best suited for this purpose.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Celestron-31045 ... dp_product

This Celestron Astromaster 130EQ caught my eye while browsing around (partially because i'm based in europe right now, so shipping cost is ideal). From what I read, greater aperture is what I need for my purpose, so is this a good place to start?

Any comments and suggestions would be appreciated! Many thanks!
Hi uracil. Welcome to the forum!