Beginner Questions

For people new to astronomy who want to ask those questions that they were afraid to ask. Receive helpful answers here.
samsam

Beginner Questions

Post by samsam »

Dear all, i am a newbie to astronomy and have the following basic questions. Hope someone can provide some advice.

Background is that i would like to view stars / planets from my apartment's balcony at the 10th floor in Singapore (south facing with probably 30 degree view of east & west). I can observe some stars with my naked eyes and would like to see them in greater details. As i am just taking the first step in astronomy, it will just be purely viewing what is available in the night sky on my balcony (no stars tracking / identification system).

I am hoping to get a telescope that is not bulky, easy to install for beginners (plug and play) and provides decent view. Budget is between S$500-1k; open to buying online or offline as long as it is new piece. It should be higher than the glass panel on my balcony or can be place on a small outdoor table. Can someone please recommend some suitable models and places where i can secure them?

Also, i would like to know if given the current facing of my balcony, would i be able to see the moon (haven't seen it for a week) and/or the easy sightable planets (e.g. jupiter)?

Thanks!
bornfree
Favourite scope: Still searching for "The Eye"

Re: Beginner Questions

Post by bornfree »

it is the new moon period. marked by the start of the 7th month and hari raya.
from observation, window facing south will be hard to get the view of moon n planets. planets rises from the east n sets in the west, although we are near thr equator, the moon n planets tend to rise east, or east north east.

i would suggest take a few weeks to observe the moon. since u get to span from east to west, tonigh's crecent will set @ about 9pm, and each day from now, it will set later and later by approximately 50 mins. planets wont stray too far from the path the moon takes.