Telescope for deep sky photography

For people new to astronomy who want to ask those questions that they were afraid to ask. Receive helpful answers here.
Golucky

Telescope for deep sky photography

Post by Golucky »

Hi, I am new to astrophotography. I like what I saw in the deep sky photos sharing on clubsnap and I wanted to give the niche area a try.

I seek your recommendations and viewpoint.

I like the deep sky pictures and the Milky Way. They are beautiful. I would like to take pictures of them and this means I need to put together a kit. In your opinion, is the Nexstar 6se and 8 SE a good system for beginner like me? I am getting a DSLR to be modified. So the cam is no issue. Now I need to check out the scope.

The other option is the Orion system. What's your take? Thanks in advance.
Hardwarezone
Favourite scope: maksutov

Re: Telescope for deep sky photography

Post by Hardwarezone »

The Nexstar SE are altazimuth mounts and slow focal ratio. Not suitable.
For your purpose you need an equatorial mount, they compensate for the rotation that is visible for extended period.
cloud_cover
Favourite scope: 94.5", f/24 Ritchey-Chretien Reflector

Post by cloud_cover »

Hello and welcome to the club!
For astrophotography, the most important factor is the mount. You need a decent quality Equatorial mount for any success at all. This is because the mount must track the stars very accurately as they move across the sky or you will end up with smudged pictures. Don't believe everything the marketing says - do ask around before you actually place down money on your chosen equipment.