Newbie here

For people new to astronomy who want to ask those questions that they were afraid to ask. Receive helpful answers here.
BlueOysterCult

Newbie here

Post by BlueOysterCult »

Hello everybody.
I am a newbie, started astronomy 1 year ago and currently looking for a astrophotography scope.
Do the good bros here have any advice? Budget of about $2k, prefer small refractor.

Thanx.
orly_andico

Re: Newbie here

Post by orly_andico »

This has been repeated ad nauseum, but if you're looking at astrophotography, your first line item should be the mount. So is your $2K for everything, or is that just the scope budget and you have a separate budget for the mount?

Also will you be using a DSLR - and will it be APS-C, Full Frame (FX) - or will you be using a dedicated astro CCD.

General rule of thumb, 50% of the budget goes to the mount, maybe 30% on the scope, then 20% on the camera. If you will be using a DSLR then you have more flexibility around the mount and scope.

Do note that good mounts get expensive really fast, and they are also problematic to transport.
Airconvent
Super Moderator

Post by Airconvent »

Welcome to Singastro. I suggest you check out our FAQ and Beginner Articles. And a trip to the Astroscientific will allw you to see many scopes in one place. But before making a purchase, do join in any of the obs sessions being conducted by enthusiastic members here especially the Toa Payoh and Bishan park groups!
They will be able to showcase their scopes and explain the features, so you can decide which type suits you more.
Cheers :)
The Boldly Go Where No Meade Has Gone Before
Captain, RSS Enterprise NCC1701R
United Federation of the Planets
antares2063
Favourite scope: Newtonians

Post by antares2063 »

Hi welcome to the hobby that makes you wonder why Singapore is so cloudy and the light pollution (skyglow) is so bad .

As air convent mentioned...do join in some local astro sessions to have a idea of mounts and scopes for astrophotography . :)