What kind of AZ mount fits my C5

For people new to astronomy who want to ask those questions that they were afraid to ask. Receive helpful answers here.
quinceypoh
Favourite scope: Celestron C5

What kind of AZ mount fits my C5

Post by quinceypoh »

Hi guys,

I'm very new to astronomy, I've just purchased a Celestron C5 scope. After reading up on mounts, I've decided to go for a AZ GoTo mount. The only problem i have is that i cant seem to find a suitable mount for my C5, I'm looking for a lightweight mount since my setup is very light. My main aim is view plantets and a little astrophotography. Can someone please recommend me what brands do i look out for and if possible where can i purchase it in Singapore.

Equipment I'm using.
Celestron C5 Finder scope
Canon DSLR 500D

Thanks in advance!! =)
bornfree
Favourite scope: Still searching for "The Eye"

Re: What kind of AZ mount fits my C5

Post by bornfree »

Astrophotography with AZ is kind of hard. you cant do long exposure, u might want to rethink and get a EQ. Maybe the APers can help u with some more tips.
Born to be Free
quinceypoh

Post by quinceypoh »

Hmm i guess i dont mind going for an EQ mount. Is there an EQ mount that is light and portable and has a GoTo feature? How does one polar align an EQ mount in singapore when i cant even find the north star polaris?
cloud_cover
Favourite scope: 94.5", f/24 Ritchey-Chretien Reflector

Post by cloud_cover »

Hello and welcome!
C5 is a reasonably light scope and many Goto Alt-az mounts will handle the C5, although it'll be at the limit for some of the lighter duty ones.
Celestron's own Nexstar mounts are reasonable alternatives and I personally use a 5' Mak (similar but heavier than your C5) on a Skyprodigy which works very well indeed.