Binoculars for a Beginner

For people new to astronomy who want to ask those questions that they were afraid to ask. Receive helpful answers here.
lsolaTioN

Binoculars for a Beginner

Post by lsolaTioN »

Hi!

I'm a newbie here! I've been meaning to take my first tentative steps into astronomy, but I always had the thought that a telescope would be too expensive or too inconvenient to carry around for me to use much.

I'm thinking of starting out with a pair of binoculars, and I've read a lot about people saying that's a good place to start in!
It's a whole new world out there...all the brands and equipment..
I'm looking at something that's around $200...

I've done a bit of homework, and I'm thinking of getting something along the lines of a 10x50, since most likely I'll be using it handheld. Oh and it should be suitable for a spectacles wearing person too (aka me =P).
But it's probably a good idea to get a feel of how it'll be like in my hands right?
Are there any places in Singapore with a good selection for me to take a look at (and buy if it is affordable)?
Or if any of the pros here have a second pair to sell, I would be interested too!T
Thanks so much!
bornfree
Favourite scope: Still searching for "The Eye"

Re: Binoculars for a Beginner

Post by bornfree »

There has been quite a number of new threads started in the Beginners Forums about binos and where to buy. Many of the larger camera shops do carry binos as well. if you are looking for a 2nd hand here, you can always put up a WTB thread in the Buy and Sell Forum...
Born to be Free
antares2063
Favourite scope: Newtonians

Post by antares2063 »

lsolaTioN wrote: But it's probably a good idea to get a feel of how it'll be like in my hands right?
hi Isolation, welcome to singastro!