Observation In South East area

For people new to astronomy who want to ask those questions that they were afraid to ask. Receive helpful answers here.
haejae
Favourite scope: astromaster 130eq:p

Observation In South East area

Post by haejae »

Hello, im a beginner and just bought a new scope a week or so ago. I have trouble observing even the brightest objects in the sky like stars and needless to say planets. With a 10x50 celestron bino, i could only make out certain stars. any advice will be appreciated. Thanks! Scope(5 ich newtonian) [smilie=admire2.gif]
antares2063
Favourite scope: Newtonians

Re: Observation In south east area

Post by antares2063 »

Hi and welcome to the forum, grats on your new telescope.

I'm not too sure as to what your query is ? We are living in Singapore, if you are trying to observe out from home windows, chances are you wont see much stars in the sky. Now with the haze on and off it makes the matters worse. In order to see more, need to bring scope to relatively darker places like rural parts of Malaysia.

regards
Junwei
I miss the place where stars shine bright, to gaze upwards in awe of the sight
haejae

Post by haejae »

Is there any place in the East area that is reputable for "dark Skies?''. Also as i am a novice and just 14 yrs old can i participate in any upcoming obv sessions around the east? Thank you
antares2063

Post by antares2063 »

Well i stay in the East too, you may try Bedok Reservoir or East Coast Park . FOr East Coast Park there is a big field 100m away from the Hawker Center, the coconut patch of ECP near the ex-Goldkist chalet has been boarded up so that site is out. Try to get away from the jogging path lights if you can. And try aim for the brighter DSOs...galaxies in Singapore are tough. You are using a starchart apps on your mobile phone i guess?