Looking for an upgrade

For people new to astronomy who want to ask those questions that they were afraid to ask. Receive helpful answers here.
siixer

Looking for an upgrade

Post by siixer »

Hi all,
I recently saved enough to get a decent upgrade from my current scope, AstroMaster 70AZ. I am currently split between the NexStar 4se, 130 SLT or the 127 Mak SLT. Can anyone help me to choose which is the best one from the bunch and if you have any other suggestions that does not require overseas shipping, do leave them here as well. Do note that I am still a student and can't really afford anything extravagant.
Thanks!
ivan
Favourite scope: TAK-oyaki

Re: Looking for an upgrade

Post by ivan »

Hi,

It would be helpful if you could share what objects you'd prefer looking at. For example, if you're mostly interested in planets, a Mak (or any long focal length scope) would do better than a Newt of the same aperture. In most cases, you'd also want to get more aperture. The NexStar 4se falls short in this regard.

If you know the sky sufficiently, you can also cut cost on the goto and get a manual mount, and spend more on getting a larger aperture.

Lastly, consider getting a good condition set from the used market locally.
Just a casual stargazer
Hardwarezone
Favourite scope: maksutov

Post by Hardwarezone »

Change the ball shaped 90 degree "diagonal" to a 1.25" mirror diagonal and 32mm plossl.

Total cost $12 + $20 if bought online from overseas.
Big improvement over the original stuff that came packaged "free" with the Astromaster.

https://i.imgur.com/dDJTfL9.png
siixer

Post by siixer »

Hi Ivan!
I do not have really specific targets to look out for. I just observe whatever is out on that night. Also, can you suggest me any local used market apart from this site?
Thanks!

Hi Hardwarezone!
I already have a 1,25" mirror diagonal which my friend gave me along with a 25mm plossl.
Thanks!
Airconvent
Super Moderator

Post by Airconvent »

Hi,