how to start using my skywatcher mak 127 with az porta mount

For people new to astronomy who want to ask those questions that they were afraid to ask. Receive helpful answers here.
2005-passat

how to start using my skywatcher mak 127 with az porta mount

Post by 2005-passat »

hi guys,
a bit stressed actually, my wife's birthday coming soon...
wanna learn how to use the telescope fast...

setup no problem
now question is how to find what i want to see....
anyone can advise here ?

like maybe take reference from orion....then left right.....can find something interesting to see....otherwise...maybe just scanning the sky non-stop...

thanks....i am a real real newbie here....any any advise would help...
happy holiday everyone !!

thanks a million...
anat

Post by anat »

So, read "Turn Left at Orion" :) It is a good book.

Anat
Last edited by anat on Thu Nov 03, 2005 1:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
acc
Administrator
Favourite scope: Mag1 Instruments 12.5" Portaball

Post by acc »

Welcome to Singastro :) Astronomy is supposed to be a relaxing hobby you know, so calm now a bit. At most get scolded by wife. Or if you see nothing through the eyepiece claim that its a black hole you are pointing at :)

-Get a basic star-chart such as those you can download for free at www.skyandtelescope.com or www.telescope.com
-Use a binocular to familiarise yourself with the sky
-Use a low power eyepiece when searching for objects. Try M42 the Orion nebulae for instant gratification
-Join a local star-party
-Check out the articles in our FAQ section.

cheers
cc
We do it in the dark...
Portaball 12.5"
Takahashi Mewlon 210
William Optics 110ED
...and all night long!
NGC 5139

Post by NGC 5139 »

Hello,

Hmm, if you're looking near Orion (the brightest constellation in winter skies)..look for the 3 stars in a row that form his belt. Look right of it to find M42/M43, the brightest diffuse nebula (star cloud and area of star birth) in the sky.