Very new here and super blur!! pls help!!

For people new to astronomy who want to ask those questions that they were afraid to ask. Receive helpful answers here.
Nathanial_Ng

Very new here and super blur!! pls help!!

Post by Nathanial_Ng »

Hello I'm new to astronomy and i seriously do not know how to get started. Are there any astronomy clubs that i am able to join so that i can get started? i live around serangoon...
weixing
Super Moderator
Favourite scope: Vixen R200SS & Celestron 6" F5 Achro Refractor
Location: (Tampines) Earth of Solar System in Orion Arm of Milky Way Galaxy in Local Group Galaxies Cluster

Post by weixing »

Hi,
Welcome to SingAstro!! :D :D

You can try to find books on introduction to Astronomy in library, check out the FAQ for Beginners and join someone else observation session.

Have a nice day.
Yang Weixing
:mrgreen: "The universe is composed mainly of hydrogen and ignorance." :mrgreen:
Airconvent
Super Moderator

Post by Airconvent »

Hi
If you are in Poly or any of the tertiary institutions, you can join their astro clubs. Otherwise here will be a good place also for general astronomy.
Best is to meet up for observation.
Check out the weekly obs session by Weixing in tampines which is on as long as not cloudy and rainy! I think Zong regularly holds sessions in Toa Payoh park too while Chris conducts his in Serangoon area.
The Boldly Go Where No Meade Has Gone Before
Captain, RSS Enterprise NCC1701R
United Federation of the Planets
chrisyeo

Post by chrisyeo »

check out http://wiki.singastro.org ... still busy working on it but you should find it informative still..

Cheers,
chris
whiteholes

Post by whiteholes »

Are you more interested in the practical part of astronomy or the theory part?

If its theory, i recommend you read a brief history of time.
rlow

Post by rlow »

How to get started? Here's my suggestion:

1. Don't buy a binocular or scope yet, until you are familiarised with a few binoculars or scopes.