Newcomer needs help =X

For people new to astronomy who want to ask those questions that they were afraid to ask. Receive helpful answers here.
eMinity

Newcomer needs help =X

Post by eMinity »

hi people. i'm quite new to astronomy and have been reading up on it for about a year.

recently i've been thinking of getting a telescope but i have no idea of what to get. i have not much knowledge about telescopes so i would really appreciate your help. :D

im interested in deep sky objects and planetary so any idea of what telescope i should get? i was thinking of getting Celestron AstroMaster 114EQ. do you think it would be good for me to get it? any other suggestions other than that?

as im staying at the east, are there any places selling the telescope suggested near the east other than the science centre? because its quite inconvenient for me to travel from east to west. =X

another question i would like to ask. i've been looking up at the night sky with my naked eye and have been seeing these 2 stars near the moon and they are pretty bright. any idea what stars are they? or are they just satellites?

hope to receive a reply soon. haha thanks. =D
shawnpoh

Post by shawnpoh »

chrisyeo

Post by chrisyeo »

http://www.singastro.org/web/mediawiki/ ... _telescope

Let me know if this helps.

Clear skies!
Dragon Man

Post by Dragon Man »

eMinity,

I'm sorry I can't help with which telescope you should start with as I am unfamiliar with your skies.

I live with very dark skies in a small country town in Australia where BIG scopes are the choice.

But consider whether you will need it for just visual or for Astrophotography.

Not knowing your sky I can't help, sorry.

But I can help you with your query regarding the 2 big bright stars near the Moon. They aren't actually stars. They are the planets Venus and Jupiter.

Venus is the lowest one and Jupiter the highest one [smilie=good-job.gif]
Cheers, Ken :D

Snake Valley, Australia