I want a GEM mount!!!

For people new to astronomy who want to ask those questions that they were afraid to ask. Receive helpful answers here.
shirox
Favourite scope: Takahashi FSQ85EDX

I want a GEM mount!!!

Post by shirox »

Ok, i'm a complete noob to mounts and stuffs... To prevent impusive buying and regretting my decision later, i am looking for a GOTO GEM with payloads to about 20kg.

Vixen SXD
Orion Atlas EQ-G
Celestron CGEM
Losmandy G11

Read some pro and cons of the various mounts like Goto not as comprehensive bla.

Your valuable input is greatly appreciated lol
chip

Post by chip »

WOW! is this your first GEM purchase? this is a very huge leap forward, IMHO.

For me personally, I would chose a mount to fit a certain purpose. These mounts listed above are quite "heavy" duty, and suits astrophotography well. But I think you can settle for something lighter if visual observation is your target.

Considering my small body size, I would have a hard time making it a portable setup. However, if this is to be a permanent, I'll leave it to the other Pros here to discuss because I personally have no experience with these kinds of serious gears.
andeelym

Post by andeelym »

I am actually going for a minitower turbo (by trapezium) and a EQ wedge. At least its portable and easy to setup. And it can carry what I want it to carry.

In the future when i can have a more perm setup, then i'll go for a heavy GEM.
shirox

Post by shirox »

This is going to be a permanent set up for AP at home and maybe to astro trips up north.
For usual ob sessions i will still have my voyager mount, so i am also looking for a short refractor to double up as my portable scope and guider scope in future.
Main Ota at the moment will still be VMC200L until next time i might wanna sell it and get a decent Quadruple APO or Triplet for serious imaging but that probably won't happen anytime soon for the next 1 years i guess.