Automatic X,Y movement tripod head

For people new to astronomy who want to ask those questions that they were afraid to ask. Receive helpful answers here.
garbled

Automatic X,Y movement tripod head

Post by garbled »

Hi All,

I'm new to astro photography and been doing star trails photography and time lapse photography some time. I heard a girl in the June 15th star gazing using a tripod mount that increments for as low as 1 degrees (or depends how you setup it) X,Y axis via a small cabled remote. She doesn't even need to touch the scope but shes using the cable remote to move her scope sideways and up and the good thing is she can time the movements automatically too.

Anyone can direct me whats the brand she's using?

I'm looking forward in mounting some heavy dslr lens and heavy dslr camera's on top of it. Probably around 8 pounds of load.

I'm looking for a moderate quality to top quality tripod heads. Also, is there a place in singapore that specializes in such items? All the camera shops in funan doesn't have those. I tried to google it or search it here but I Just don't understand whether its the correct item i'm looking for... [smilie=confused.gif]

Please help, thank you.
wucheeyiun

Re: Automatic X,Y movement tripod head

Post by wucheeyiun »

garbled wrote:Hi All,

I'm new to astro photography and been doing star trails photography and time lapse photography some time. I heard a girl in the June 15th star gazing using a tripod mount that increments for as low as 1 degrees (or depends how you setup it) X,Y axis via a small cabled remote. She doesn't even need to touch the scope but shes using the cable remote to move her scope sideways and up and the good thing is she can time the movements automatically too.

Anyone can direct me whats the brand she's using?

I'm looking forward in mounting some heavy dslr lens and heavy dslr camera's on top of it. Probably around 8 pounds of load.