New to astronomy, what scope to buy?

For people new to astronomy who want to ask those questions that they were afraid to ask. Receive helpful answers here.
jialin343

New to astronomy, what scope to buy?

Post by jialin343 »

[WTB] hi, im new to astronomy and im thinking of purchasing a cheap telescope/binoculars, mainly use for stargazing. i have limited knowledge about the products and functions. any recommendations?
shirox
Favourite scope: Takahashi FSQ85EDX

Post by shirox »

hi Jialin, welcome to Singastro :) lol
I believe you are very eager to purchase your first telescope and start exploring the wonders of the universe.
Before you embark on that journey, i would suggest reading up abit on the objects that you can and can not see in the skies.
Also some books like Backyard astronomy offers very detail information not only about cosmos but also towards what type of telescopes, mounts, eyepiece, filters, cameras etc etc.
Regards,
Shirox
http://eltonastronomy.blogspot.com/

Mersing finally installed some water sink!
cloud_cover
Favourite scope: 94.5", f/24 Ritchey-Chretien Reflector

Post by cloud_cover »

Welcome to the forum :)
Actually, why not "borrow" equipment? Do join some of the stargazing sessions that the folks announce around here and you'll be able to see what kind of equipment does what :)
Also important: what's your budget and are you willing to take used items? Buying second hand really cuts down the costs.
DON'T PANIC
Gary

Post by Gary »

Hi Jialin. Welcome to Singastro. My recommendation is to make your limited knowledge less limited by reading up on the subject. :)

- Read the Singastro wiki pages:
http://www.singastro.org/web/mediawiki/ ... /Main_Page

- Borrow and read telescope/binoculars and stargazing books and magazines from the library (section 520).

- Understand the pros and cons of the 3 major types of telescope design. Then decide which design best suit your observing preferences and budget.

- You may find my article useful: