newbie here wanna take photo of star.

For people new to astronomy who want to ask those questions that they were afraid to ask. Receive helpful answers here.
uenuei

newbie here wanna take photo of star.

Post by uenuei »

hi guy,im a newbie here wanna shoot star with my dslr.i'm using a canon 7D...do i need to modifity my camera?wat equiment i need to buy??any pro here willing to share?or meet-up for a pratical session?=)
shirox
Favourite scope: Takahashi FSQ85EDX

Post by shirox »

Hi uenuei,

i'm sure you are eager to take shots of the heavens as they are so beautiful and magnificent! However as I have started this hobby a couple of months ago, I have not realised that actually trying to snap with a camera on a telescope is not just ABC. Its easy only if you spend time reading and learning the correct steps and sequence. I have spent time reading in the library again after not stepping in for 15 years of my life, looking for ways and skills to improve my skills over the internet, and seeking advices from experience friends who has been in the hobby for a long time. Of course, i was once told, theory without applications is foolish and true enough by just reading i couldn't fully understand the information that was in the book/net.
What i may propose as did by Gary to me :) is to read a book like Backyard Astronomy or borrow some from the library. You dun need expensive gears to start observing the skies but u will need to conjure more dough if you wishes to proceed to Astrophotography.

There are many groups within Singastro that ventures to different parts of Malaysia, for example like Punggai, Sedili and Mersing.
The NUS also has a astronomy club and from time to time they do conduct local sessions in the university thou i have not been there yet.
Gary also conduct free Astro sideway in Toa Payoh whenever its clear in the skies, last week i went to Rlow's Tiong Bahru to have a taste of his 15" Dob.