nexstar 4gt vs. 114gt vs meade ds2114at

Here is the place to talk about all those equipment(Telescope, Mounts, Eyepieces, etc...) you have. Not sure which scope/eyepiece is best for you? Trash it out here!
kingkong

nexstar 4gt vs. 114gt vs meade ds2114at

Post by kingkong »

hi all astro gurus, newbie here needs help with choosing first scope.
I'm looking at some thing like the following, with goto system if possible.

meade DS2114AT (4.5")
see http://www.stargazer.com.my/product/Pro ... ubDTID=130
and http://www.optik-roesener.de/shop/pdf/1 ... pe_web.pdf

celestron Nexstar 4GT (4")
http://www.trifid-optics.com/telescope_2.htm#4GT

celestron Nexstar 114GT (4.5")
http://www.trifid-optics.com/telescope_2.htm#114GT

all have goto. 4GT no tripod. 114 has bigger aperture? 4GT smaller.
what else is different? which one has better quality? which one has better optics/eyepiece/tripod/drive/etc.?
which one would you recommend? if none of the above, what then?
thank you for your kind guidance.
:?:
acc
Administrator
Favourite scope: Mag1 Instruments 12.5" Portaball

Post by acc »

Hi King Kong (wow! :P )
Based purely on these 3 scopes, I would rank them as follows in decreasing order of preference
1) N4GT
2) N114GT
3) DS2114

N4 shld have the best mount and drive but optics is only fair. Not sure how N114 optics compare with the N4. Try to stay away from the Meade unless u are mechanically inclined as Meade's mounts can have VERY bad quality control.

Hopefully u are not buying from Trifid as they are charging an arm and two legs for the scopes? :)

If u can live w/o goto, get a Skywatcher 127mm Mak from one of the local dealers and mount it on a camera tripod for the best bang-for-the-buck for visual use.

cheers
cc
blurblock

Post by blurblock »

hehehe .... or you can get it from Weixing who is selling his Skywatcher 127 MCT :).... pretty good scope ;)
kingkong

Post by kingkong »

sorry. neglected to put in my profile that i live in borneo. :oops: