Sidewalk astronomy session

Alright, this is for sharing of your observation experience. Or, if you are arranging gatherings, star-gazing expeditions or just want some company to go observing together, you can shout it out here.
aleetk

Sidewalk astronomy session

Post by aleetk »

Hi guys! I think it will be full moon this coming Wednesday or Thursday so I was thinking of doing a sidewalk at West Coast Park. I wonder if we can see Jupiter and other objects too with the moon around. Anyway, I think I might need some help and company too since this is my 1st time doing this and I am no expert. Furthermore, I am quite shy so it really took me some time to muster up some courage to be doing this :P So I was wondering whether anyone is free to be there with me with their telescopes too. We can confirm day and time later. Do let me know. Thanks!
antares2063
Favourite scope: Newtonians

Re: Sidewalk astronomy session

Post by antares2063 »

Hi alex, maybe it would be better to hold it on a friday or saturday evening? Rather than right smack in the middle of a work week.

Also from a observing point of view, a full moon looks flat and boring. Those who havent looked thru a scope, will go "wow" if they see craters, as it gives the moon more depth and 3D-like appearance, so doing it on friday or saturday, there will be craters visible.

Planets still can shine thru, DSOs will be muted, especially those in the part of the sky where the moon is.
Just my two cents :) gd luck for your sidewalk and clear skies.

I live in the east...west coast abit far for me and have no way to go home from there , if not wil surely join u.
I miss the place where stars shine bright, to gaze upwards in awe of the sight
aleetk

Post by aleetk »

Thanks for the advice antares especially on the part about the moon. It's a pity you are unable to join me.
antares2063

Post by antares2063 »

no probelm :) next time sure got chance to meet someday!
Gary

Post by Gary »