Multi-storey car parks and roof tops!

Alright, this is for sharing of your observation experience. Or, if you are arranging gatherings, star-gazing expeditions or just want some company to go observing together, you can shout it out here.
aquacocoa85

Multi-storey car parks and roof tops!

Post by aquacocoa85 »

Hey people,

Kinda occured to me that top levels of multi-storey car parks make pretty good observation sites. Although some may be gently lighted, nice concrete floor makes it rather pleasant. The other place that i thought seemed quite good was rooftop access to buildings. Trying to get some on my condo so that i can go up there and take a look but even from the staircase well, at 10 floors, the views are rather stunning. Any one has comments on these two places? Just thought that these two places are rather accessible so makes viewing more convenient. I'm just a beginner so my judgement may be wrong. :wink:

Any Comments?

Aq85
kcy
Location: Some where in space...some where in the evolution of time...

Post by kcy »

It may be good...

But take note that multi storey car parks then to be located near HDB blocks. This gives heavy light pollution. To judge whether the selected location is good see whether the sky is 'dark'..not very bright or something.
Yours Sincerly,

Kong Chong Yew 8)
SP astronomers
weixing
Super Moderator
Favourite scope: Vixen R200SS & Celestron 6" F5 Achro Refractor
Location: (Tampines) Earth of Solar System in Orion Arm of Milky Way Galaxy in Local Group Galaxies Cluster

Post by weixing »

Hi,
Since I normally observe alone, accessibility and safety is my primary concern. Unless looking at very dim object, I think multi-storey car park is very convenient, since most of people won't park their car at the top of the multi-storey car park and also very clean. Of course, you need to found one that can view a large part of the sky and as dark as possible... :)