Recommendation on eyepiece kit

Here is the place to talk about all those equipment(Telescope, Mounts, Eyepieces, etc...) you have. Not sure which scope/eyepiece is best for you? Trash it out here!
alexaung

Recommendation on eyepiece kit

Post by alexaung »

Hi Guys...

I am having a little dilemma between this two set...
http://www.telescopes.com/telescope-eye ... format.cfm
http://www.telescopes.com/telescope-eye ... terkit.cfm

The only major different is celestron kit provide more space in the box which will allow me to store my other eye piece and collimator..
However, Zhumell set has a little difference on its 32mm eye piece which AFOV is 52degree compare celestron's which is 44degree...

As a newbie, i would like to ask the masters here on the impact of losing AFOV of 8 degree on 32mm and would it really matter if i choose Celestron?

Thanks for all your advise...
Hardwarezone
Favourite scope: maksutov

Re: Recommendation on eyepiece kit

Post by Hardwarezone »

DO NOT buy these kits.
The only useful things you need are the barlow and 32mm plossl.
For the money if you concentrate only on the 2 items, you can either get better quality or cost savings.

Info on cloudynights forum said these 32m plossl are just 50 afov. Manufacturer stated 52 is inaccurate, they just lump it together with the smaller plossls. The 45 afov is 40mm plossl.
Last edited by Hardwarezone on Sat Aug 16, 2014 12:05 am, edited 1 time in total.
antares2063
Favourite scope: Newtonians

Post by antares2063 »

Hi alexaung,

the eyepieces in the kits are pretty generic plossls . It may not be a big issue to some but take note the eye relief gets worse as the focal length becomes smaller . (i.e higher magnification)

If you have the time , do check out other eyepiece owned by others at sidewalks, they will be glad to give u better recommendations :)