WTB : Binoviewer for SLT127

Have a scope to sell? Or wanna find a good deal? This is your place to buy, sell or trade astro stuff!
meteorial

WTB : Binoviewer for SLT127

Post by meteorial »

Hi guys,

I'm a complete beginner and just bought my first scope (slt 127). I saw a packaged binoviewer online from william optics and was thinking that it would ease the strain on viewing with just one eye.

However, I understand that there seems to be some sort of tremendous (at least for a noob like me) science and maths behind getting the right equipments.

I spoke to the nice chap who runs the astro store at science ctr and he recommended that 167x magnification (supplied stock eyepiece) is sufficient for my purpose.

So... I'm seeking some advice...

How different, in terms of detail, magnification and brightness, would planetary viewing be between the packaged william optics binoviewer and the stock 9mm eyepiece. Will it be about the same? [smilie=confused.gif]

What would be your advice and recommendation?

I am open to buying one here if anyone is selling. Can be other models. Not sure of the prices but currently budget conscious I must say.

Hope your day are going well!
antares2063
Favourite scope: Newtonians

Re: WTB : Binoviewer for slt 127

Post by antares2063 »

I dont have one to sell but, Is the SLT a makustov? A binoviewer extends more lightpath (or focal length) to your telescope, you will realise that with 2 x 25mm ep in the binoviewer, the view is magnified too :)

regards
Junwei
I miss the place where stars shine bright, to gaze upwards in awe of the sight
Hardwarezone
Favourite scope: maksutov

Post by Hardwarezone »

useful forum link here
http://www.cloudynights.com/forum/65-binoviewers/

Binoviewer splits the beam of light into roughly equivalent 2 output.
Not exactly 50/50 as the prism will have a small bias to one side like 45/55.
With a small % of light loss being absorbed by the glass.