Celestron C114-Hd

Here is the place to talk about all those equipment(Telescope, Mounts, Eyepieces, etc...) you have. Not sure which scope/eyepiece is best for you? Trash it out here!
aquacocoa85

Celestron C114-Hd

Post by aquacocoa85 »

To everyone,

Guess this is my first time posting somethign on the forum. Hope you guys can help me out. Do you guys have any comments on the Celestron C114-Hd? Its a pretty old model and it comes with the HD german equitorial mount that has been discontinued in recent times. Thanks so much for your time!

Regards,

Aquacocoa85
VinSnr
Administrator

Post by VinSnr »

if you still can find this scope and wouldn't mind the small 4.5" aperture, it would be a pretty good scope. The mount is a CG4, which I think is a overkill for this scope..so that would make a pretty good stable setup.

Certainly better than the current firstscope 114 series. The firstscope 114 uses a really filmsy eq mount.

Do note that the tube is pretty long..at f/8 if I am not wrong. The OTA is still a pretty good one...think it's from Japan, unlike the current ones from China. But because of the long tube, it's not erally that portable but certainly managable. However a longer tube is more forgiving on collimation, so it's pretty good for new people.

Umm..you are the second guy who is asking for an obsoleted scope. This is really stretching my memory!
aquacocoa85

Post by aquacocoa85 »

okay.. thanks! that certaintly helped alot. You mentioned that it might not be too portable and all, are there any cases that celestron offer for such a size to enable carrying it slightly easier? or do u just have to lugg it by hand?

Lastly, is 4.5" aperture too small for a reflector?

Regards,
Aquacocoa85
VinSnr
Administrator

Post by VinSnr »