Question on Vixen GA-4 illuminated Guiding Adapter

CCD vs Film? Lots of time vs no patience? Alright, this is your place to discuss all the astrophotography what's and what's not. You can discuss about techniques, accessories, cameras, whatever....just make sure you also post some nice photos here too!
weixing
Super Moderator
Favourite scope: Vixen R200SS & Celestron 6" F5 Achro Refractor
Location: (Tampines) Earth of Solar System in Orion Arm of Milky Way Galaxy in Local Group Galaxies Cluster

Question on Vixen GA-4 illuminated Guiding Adapter

Post by weixing »

Hi,
I'm new in astrophotography and as part of my upgrading for astrophotography equipment, I come across the Vixen GA-4(1.25" version). It give the following infomation for calculating the focal length of telescope or telephoto len using a guide scope of 1000mm focal length:

1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th
464mm 232mm 116mm 58mm 29mm 14.5mm

My question is that since the GA-4 will be use on the guide scope and contain a 3x barlow, does the 1000mm is the focal length after the 3x barlow or before the 3x barlow?

Thanks and have a nice day.
VinSnr
Administrator

Post by VinSnr »

weixing wrote:Hi,
I'm new in astrophotography and as part of my upgrading for astrophotography equipment, I come across the Vixen GA-4(1.25" version). It give the following infomation for calculating the focal length of telescope or telephoto len using a guide scope of 1000mm focal length:

1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th
464mm 232mm 116mm 58mm 29mm 14.5mm

My question is that since the GA-4 will be use on the guide scope and contain a 3x barlow, does the 1000mm is the focal length after the 3x barlow or before the 3x barlow?

Think you need Remus to answer you this. He should be familiar with Vixen's products
rcj
Vendor

Question on Vixen GA4

Post by rcj »

Hi Weixing,

Not sure what exactly are you asking, but my knowledge of the Vixen GA4 (being a user) is this: