Meteor watching

For people new to astronomy who want to ask those questions that they were afraid to ask. Receive helpful answers here.
soulfrost

Meteor watching

Post by soulfrost »

um hi people~!

im pretty new to this meteor watching thing . and havent even had a single luck catching any leonids when i first got to know abt it.

anyone know where i should go in Seng Kang for a great view for the upcoming geminid showers? or even the Phoenicinids and Monocerotids ?

also , what is the use of a telescope? should i get a small portable one?
are telescopes expensive?

thanks in advance if u do answer!

~jz =3
chrisyeo

Post by chrisyeo »

Hi!

You don't need too special a place to catch meteor showers. What you need is a place that is as dark as possible. This is because most meteors are just too faint. For example, you might be able to see up to 20 random meteors from a dark site in Mersing, but the light pollution, or 'sky glow', of Singapore will prevent you from seeing all but the very brightest flashes. So for your Seng Kang question, anywhere that is away from glaring street lamps and gives you a full view of the sky will be good enough.

Telescopes are not required for meteor viewing. They are used to view objects that are much smaller or dimmer, such nebulae, planets and star clusters. There is no need to get a telescope unless you want to enjoy these other astronomical objects. Some observers catch meteors through binoculars, but you own eyes are usually best for meteor watching.

Telescopes tend to be rather expensive, though prices have been coming down steadily. 2nd hand scopes are also very affordable. Browse our 'buy and sell' section for an overview of how much some scopes sell for. Also read the faqs if you're interested.

Cheers,
Chris
weixing
Super Moderator
Favourite scope: Vixen R200SS & Celestron 6" F5 Achro Refractor
Location: (Tampines) Earth of Solar System in Orion Arm of Milky Way Galaxy in Local Group Galaxies Cluster

Post by weixing »