Newbie attempt at Saturn

CCD vs Film? Lots of time vs no patience? Alright, this is your place to discuss all the astrophotography what's and what's not. You can discuss about techniques, accessories, cameras, whatever....just make sure you also post some nice photos here too!
adree

Newbie attempt at Saturn

Post by adree »

Tried taking Saturn, and this is what i got...

Image is quite blur and no details can be seen...
10images stacked.

but hey, it's my first attempt :)

Adrian
Airconvent
Super Moderator

Re: Newbie attempt at Saturn

Post by Airconvent »

adree wrote:Tried taking Saturn, and this is what i got...

Image is quite blur and no details can be seen...
10images stacked.

but hey, it's my first attempt :)

Adrian
at least you have an attempt. the skies have not been predictable and the window of opportunity on Satuday nights have been a disappointment.
To all posters of astro photos, it would help the others to state how the photo was take, taken by what camera and what settings. Don't worry about a first attempt. If you can see the rings, its good! Long after you have become an expert, you will still come back to this pic and say "hey...this is my first pic!"....enjoy!

ps. I have yet to take any "real" saturn shots. the crude attempts I made in Mersing recently were lost when my harddisk called it a day...

rich
The Boldly Go Where No Meade Has Gone Before
Captain, RSS Enterprise NCC1701R
United Federation of the Planets
adree

Post by adree »

ah sorry to miss out the details.
Here they are:
Taken today, using Philips ToUcam Pro 740K, on a Celestron FS 114.
Using a 2x Barlow.
Focusing was tough, getting saturn on the screen is tougher!!
Adjusted some settings here and there, taken in b&w.

Adrian
" Boundaries don't hold us. Don't let them hold you. The only boundary is your imagination. "
Airconvent
Super Moderator

Post by Airconvent »

adree wrote:ah sorry to miss out the details.
Here they are: