Newbie here

For people new to astronomy who want to ask those questions that they were afraid to ask. Receive helpful answers here.
EuR0Pa

Newbie here

Post by EuR0Pa »

Hi all, I'm very new to this and I saw in a few post that it would be good to start off by borrowing some books from the library. Can anyone recommend me some good and easy-to-understand that is available in the library? I live in Tampines and it would be good if the books can be found in the Tampines library :D
Tachyon

Post by Tachyon »

What are you interested in? General introduction to astronomy? Observing the night sky? Buying a telescope? Alien life? How the universe was formed?

Why not try some of the information in the web first?

Cheers!
[80% Steve, 20% Alfred] ------- Probability of Clear Skies = (Age of newest equipment in days) / [(Number of observers) * (Total Aperture of all telescopes present in mm)]
EuR0Pa

Post by EuR0Pa »

Tachyon wrote:What are you interested in? General introduction to astronomy? Observing the night sky? Buying a telescope? Alien life? How the universe was formed?

Why not try some of the information in the web first?

Cheers!
Apart from buying telescope which I don't have the money, I am quite interested in the rest of the stuff u have mentioned. And ya will go and search for some information on the web. :D
Tachyon

Post by Tachyon »

My preference for websites:

(1) www.space.com

(2) www.skyandtelescope.com

With these two websites, you can learn almost 90% of all BASIC astronomy.

Cheers!
[80% Steve, 20% Alfred] ------- Probability of Clear Skies = (Age of newest equipment in days) / [(Number of observers) * (Total Aperture of all telescopes present in mm)]
boothee

Post by boothee »

Hi

Welcome to the forum!!!

You should also check the topic posted by Weixing.

Astronomy Theory Lecture Notes for beginner

Cheers !!!

8-)
boothee