Newbie need opinion on telescope

For people new to astronomy who want to ask those questions that they were afraid to ask. Receive helpful answers here.
kinkikids

Newbie need opinion on telescope

Post by kinkikids »

hi, i can say i am completely new to astronomy. I am from Selangor, Malaysia.

What i need to do now is to get a beginner class telescope(no bino..) as my mum's birthday present. (which is also a newbie, but is very interested in reading books about horoscope and astronomy..)

well.. i had read a couple of comments in the forum about telescope but i can hardly understand them... so could somebody please guide me?

Normally where's the best place to get telescope? whats the price (beginner class) normally? Can recommend a few places within Klang Valley, Malaysia area?

Whats the diff between beginner class and advance class? why a newbie is not recommended to get a advance class telescope? Please advice... thanks~~

p/s: i had seen a few telescope in http://www.lelong.com.my , is this the telescope that i shud get?

http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2006- ... 544323.htm
http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2006- ... 544324.htm

:wink: :wink:
kayheem

Post by kayheem »

Hi,

The 2 links you gave show the types of telescopes you should NOT get. They are the typical 'department store' type scopes to avoid. You can tell them by the way they advertise magnifications above 200X e.g. 500X or 600X. Most times, observations are done <200X, depending what you are looking at.

What is your budget? Take a look at the FAQ on the Singastro website to find out more.

Kay Heem
river

Post by river »

Hi there, Welcome to Singastro.

on Equipment, better for you to join your local astro group on one of their outing before you decide what to buy. You will get better idea what to buy by trying it on the field than surfing websites. Get one that you will use the most. Bino is not that bad, try using it on a star party.