Telescope or Bino

For people new to astronomy who want to ask those questions that they were afraid to ask. Receive helpful answers here.
Airconvent
Super Moderator

Telescope or Bino

Post by Airconvent »

Hi Richard,
As a newbie, I would like to have some advices from you on the equipment. What would you suggest for a scope with mount and a bit of accessories that is less than $1000/- and is able to do astrophotography. Also, something a child can handle it for star gazing. I was thinking abt something 4" to 6" scope (mak type or =?) so that it will not be too long for my dry cabinet (DigiCabi AD100- int width 40cm). Will the Vixen VMC110L/Porta fit the needs or you will suggest others? I'm not ready that new to optic devices, I do handle cameras and microscopes for years except I'm new to telescope.
I was also looking for a binoc for star gazing. Most of the singastro guys would always suggest a 7x50 or 10x50 or smaller, but even at this lower mag and light, the binoc still "shake", may be I shake. I do have a 7-15x25, when it goes above 10x, it shake and it is difficult to watch the stars. So, I need one that has a tripod mount to eliminate the "shake". I know those big binocs come with tripod mount, can 10x50 be mounted on a tripod? If not, which bigger bincos will you suggest 15x70 or 20x80? In HK (Grand Eye), the Oberwerk 15x70 cost HKD499/- and I might be travelling there early next month and can get one.

Thank you and have a nice day
Hi Singastroians.
I received this query from an interested newbie.
As my expertise is not with astrophotgraphy, I thought I will put it up here
so astrophoto gurus can share their experiences here.

In answer to the question, for $1000, the range of available solutions is quite limited. You will need an equatorial mount (for series photography) or a dual forkmount goto scope (for light stuff like planets and the moon).