telescope for a newbie

Here is the place to talk about all those equipment(Telescope, Mounts, Eyepieces, etc...) you have. Not sure which scope/eyepiece is best for you? Trash it out here!
fiona_

telescope for a newbie

Post by fiona_ »

hello ppl... i'm new in this forum :) ... Have been into astronomy for like 3 years but never really made the effort to do some proper observing cuz' im stuck with a pair of lousy binoculars that does practically nothing. I know nothing much about proper equipment for optimum viewing so i really need u guys to guide me here.. Do bear in mind that i'm a newbie when it comes to using scopes so y'know , no complicated and expensive stuff :P thanks~!
Airconvent
Super Moderator

Re: telescope for a newbie

Post by Airconvent »

fiona_ wrote:hello ppl... i'm new in this forum :) ... Have been into astronomy for like 3 years but never really made the effort to do some proper observing cuz' im stuck with a pair of lousy binoculars that does practically nothing. I know nothing much about proper equipment for optimum viewing so i really need u guys to guide me here.. Do bear in mind that i'm a newbie when it comes to using scopes so y'know , no complicated and expensive stuff :P thanks~!
Hi Fiona "Xie",
So while you are not acting as a genie, you are into astronomy?? :lol:
Anyway, you did not mentioned what "lousy bino" you have. As I have mentioned many times, you can get a very good pair of Minolta Classic bino for less than $100 (if you can still find it). To use a bino effectively, you need to be familiar with the constellations and star hop. So do pick up a copy of the Stars and Planets by Ian Ridpath (less than $30 paper pack)
to familiarise yourself. Remember th bino is wide view, so do not expect to see faint and small objects or the "mountains" of mars.
you can join the singastro members whenever they meet to check out the scopes or contact our vendors such as Samuel for advice.