newbie here.. need some advice pls. thanks

Here is the place to talk about all those equipment(Telescope, Mounts, Eyepieces, etc...) you have. Not sure which scope/eyepiece is best for you? Trash it out here!
denn23

newbie here.. need some advice pls. thanks

Post by denn23 »

hi,

i am thinking of buying a telescope for my freind's 18th birthday as she's into astro..

so anyway, I need to buy one.. but i HAVE absolutely no clue to all the different types..

i tried to do some research but the more i do, the more confused i become!

wahts the diff
Refractors?
Makstutov Telescopes?
Firstscope Telescopes?
Reflectors?

honestly, no idea... I dont want to get her a entry level.. as i think she already has one.. so probably a middle ranged one?

one question.. how do u see how 'powerful' the telescope is?

thanks.
denn23
denn23

Post by denn23 »

i went to this site...

and am completely confused....
acc
Administrator
Favourite scope: Mag1 Instruments 12.5" Portaball

Post by acc »

HI denn
Frankly, I don't think its a good idea to buy your friend a telescope as a surprise birthday gift if this is what you intended. There are just too many different kinds of scopes, with their own advantages and disadvantages. Their costs vary widely too, not to say differences in personal perferances. If u really want to get her a scope, its best you talk to her about it to find out her preferences.
denn23

Post by denn23 »

hi acc..

was just reading up your post about the diff scopes.. Anyway, it is a surprise gift so i really dont want to ask her..