Beginner/Amateur Setup 2022

For people new to astronomy who want to ask those questions that they were afraid to ask. Receive helpful answers here.
taikiat
Favourite scope: Celestron Nexstar 6SE

Beginner/Amateur Setup 2022

Post by taikiat »

Hi all, this is probably the most asked question, but trawling for a bit I find the posts and information a bit dated so would just like to do a sync up on what is recommended in 2022.

I'm completely new to this, (last scope I owned was a Toys R Us one from 25 years back) so it doesn't count at all. Watching countless videos has made me less concerned about collimation as well as operating a EQ.

Primarily trying to kick start this hobby because of my 4 yo son who is impressed by celestial bodies, and for myself who has always liked this subject. So main objectives would be visual observations, but I would not exclude the possibility of astrophotography.

Looking at astro scientific, my budget brings me to the usual Celestron/Orion range. Some combinations I have considered and why not.

Nexstar 6SE (computerized feature makes it more enjoyable but needs external power pack. slightly overbudget)
Nexstar 5SE (as above but more within budget)
Astro Fi 6 (seems to have patchy wifi performance, power sucker)
Nexstar 6SLT (heard the mounts were crap)
C6 OTA + orion EQ1 mount (not sure about compatibility)
Orion 8" f3.9 OTA + mount (I cannot find a suitable mount as yet)
Orion Starblast 4.5 + EQ1 mount
Astromaster 130EQ (heard they cheaped out to use spherical mirrors)

As you can probably tell I am quite undecided between the 5" and 6" apertures, not sure if it makes a big difference in SG. I have not included the 5" variants of the above to extent I am open to input and guidance.

Do kindly let me know if I have missed out some other solutions! Really appreciate the community's help.

Cheers
joachim.ong
Favourite scope: 150cm Telescope at Gunma Observatory

Re: Beginner/Amateur Setup 2022

Post by joachim.ong »