I'm just a beginner and i have a low budget

For people new to astronomy who want to ask those questions that they were afraid to ask. Receive helpful answers here.
EdNet

I'm just a beginner and i have a low budget

Post by EdNet »

Hi everyone..
I have some help needed.. I am a beginner in astrophotography, a total newbie.. but have had an interest in it long ago.. I nv tot i would decide to get a telescope .. but now i really wan to have a telescope of my own.. but there's one thing.. telescopes are expensive.. but i have a low budget of like 100 bucks .. wat can i get as a beginner ? and where do i get it ??

Hope for ASAP replies
THANKS !!
Airconvent
Super Moderator

Post by Airconvent »

based on your budget, you should get yourself a bino. 7x50 or 10x50.
this should be able to give you some great wide views especially M42 and M45 . (do NOT even think of buying the Toys-R-Us or Carrefour $49 scopes as they are the fastest way to kill your interest!)

The bino allows you to learn more about the constellations and where all the cool objects are ( a trip to the library to borrow a star chart would not hurt).
after a year or two , when you have saved enough, $500 would be able to get you a decent second hand scope. check out www.mcgill.com and www.astrobargain.com for their beginner packages also.

BUT , before you buy, its appropriate that you join in one of the astro sessions conducted by weixing in tampines and have an idea what you need and what type of scope suits you.

where are you from? you can check if your school has an astro club...they can help too.

cheers and welcome to singastro!

rich
The Boldly Go Where No Meade Has Gone Before
Captain, RSS Enterprise NCC1701R
United Federation of the Planets
chrisyeo

Post by chrisyeo »

Sorry buddy, but for a $100, are you even sure you can get a good camera lens for astrophotography?