DSLRs and Astrophotography (Newbie here)

CCD vs Film? Lots of time vs no patience? Alright, this is your place to discuss all the astrophotography what's and what's not. You can discuss about techniques, accessories, cameras, whatever....just make sure you also post some nice photos here too!
Vince

DSLRs and Astrophotography (Newbie here)

Post by Vince »

Hi,

I'm pretty new to astro-photography but always had and interest in it. With recent developments on Digital SLRs, I've finally got the opportunity to try it out.

I'm currently using a Celestron C90 Maksutov-Cassergrain telescope but somehow, when I tried to photograph stellar trails, I get lots of hot pixels. Is there any way of removing them on camera? (other than post processing with PS).

Also, do you guys have any opinions on the Celestron Nexstar 130GT Newtonian? Is it any good for Astrophotography?

Thanks in Advance
weixing
Super Moderator
Favourite scope: Vixen R200SS & Celestron 6" F5 Achro Refractor
Location: (Tampines) Earth of Solar System in Orion Arm of Milky Way Galaxy in Local Group Galaxies Cluster

Post by weixing »

Hi,
To reduce noise(hot pixel), you should turn on your camera Noise Reduction. Also, you can reduce the noise via post processing. This is done by taking a dark frame with the same exposure of your stellar trails. For example, if your exposure of the stellar trails is 60s, you should also take a dark frame for 60s. Dark frame is taken by covering your camera lens, so that only the noise is capture. Then you can use software to reduce the noise from the stellar trails image.

Anyway, how long is your exposure?? Unless your site and the sky is dark, long exposure will also capture the light-pollution on the image. Also, don't worry if there are a lots of noise, noise is something that every digital camera will have when doing long exposure at high ISO setting.

Happy imaging and hope the information is useful.
Yang Weixing