NINA - Slew to target not accurate

For people new to astronomy who want to ask those questions that they were afraid to ask. Receive helpful answers here.
thesti2
Favourite scope: 8" dobsonian

NINA - Slew to target not accurate

Post by thesti2 »

Hi,

I am new to AP, and just got my gear not long time ago. I used NINA for the image acquisition software (along with other PHD2, Aztap, Green Swamp Server).

I have watched some videos and have connected the equipment successfully, I have done polar alignment by using the TPP in NINA. This is the result of the polar alignment, I hope it is not that bad. It shows 00degree, 11mins, 44secs of total error.

After that I try to go to some of DSO object, first I try the M31 since I have visibility of where it is located during my session as I check in SkySafari. So I pick that object in the SkyAtlas, Set for Framing Assistant, and then since I don't have any internet connectivity from my imaging place, I used the "Offline Sky Map" as the image source, then I click "Slew and Center". The mount start slewing but then it stopped at a different location then the one I checked in SkySafari, I tried a different method by getting the RA DEC location from Stellarium, but it still stop at a different location (same location as the previous).

Then I try to verify this by trying to goto Jupiter as I have visibility of Jupiter on the sky (I took the coordinate of Jupiter from Stellarium), and it stopped at the different location of where Jupiter was. This is the image the dot on the sky is the Jupiter but you can see the scope is pointing to another location.

What went wrong here? What should I check?

List of my gear, in case needed:
SWSA GTi, Askar FMA 230, ASI 533mc, Svbony 30mm guide scope, ASI 120mm min

Thank you.
rcj
Vendor

Re: NINA - Slew to target not accurate

Post by rcj »

Hi thesti2,