Hello and opinion on Bino (Grandeye 10x60) for a newbie

For people new to astronomy who want to ask those questions that they were afraid to ask. Receive helpful answers here.
cloud_cover
Favourite scope: 94.5", f/24 Ritchey-Chretien Reflector

Hello and opinion on Bino (Grandeye 10x60) for a newbie

Post by cloud_cover »

Hello everyone! I'm new to astronomy and generally very lost in the sky! Can identify the moon though (hee hee!)
Was originally thinking of buying a telescope but realised the prices are astronomical, so thinking of getting a reasonable, portable bino for now.
Thinking of a Grandeye 10x60 BAK-4 Porro Full Multi-coat. HKD 460 (SGD 80+)
Anyone has experience with this bino or any suggestions? Looking for under SDG 150 (less is better, but not a junk bino), portable, able to hold up without tripod and aperture 50mm or more, power max 10
Thanks for the advice!

Also managed to pull out a 20+ year old Raydawn 80mm refractor, lenses chipped and fungused, eyepiece must hold in both hands when focusing or it will unscrew itself into 3 peices, but still usable. Saw Venus (1st star in the evening, right? ) in gibbous phase for 1st time in my life few nights back, now waiting for good old luna to show its face in our skies again! :)
Chris

Post by Chris »

Welcome to the gang of cloud/ star gazers...

60mm for SGD $80 plus is pretty reasonable good. Just that you would like to lower the power a bit to 7x60 or 8x60. Else very hard to keep objects steady and will have a smaller field of view.

For identifying objects, check out this software: www.stellarium.org

All the Best!
Gary

Post by Gary »

Hi Cloud Cover. Welcome to Singastro! Do join us for our observation sessions so you can learn more about astronomy in Singapore. Install the amazing free planetarium Stellarium to familiarise yourself with the skies while hunting for your bino. Borrow and read the book Star Ware from our public libraries.